Tantrum Theater

Season Three!!!

Tantrum Theater will return to the Abbey Theater in Dublin, Ohio, for a third season in the summer of 2018. The season will feature two productions, with a total of 37 performances between June 6 and July 29.

The first season offering is The Cake, a new comedy by Bekah Brunstetter (NBC’s This Is Us) directed by Shelley Delaney, running June 6 to June 24. It will be followed by the powerful rock-musical Next to Normal, with music by Tom Kitt and book and lyrics by Brian Yorkey. Next to Normal will run from July 11 to July 29 under the direction of Robert Barry Fleming, who returns to Tantrum after directing last year’s critically-acclaimed Caroline, Or Change.

Tantrum Theater was founded in the fall of 2015 by Ohio University’s College of Fine Arts. The theater is a professional company and serves as a training ground and bridge to the industry for students in the Theater Division. The name comes from a group of Ohio University graduate students (MFA 2015, who called their cohort of ten The Tantrum) who discovered that the collective name for a group of bobcats is a Tantrum. The mascot of Ohio University is the bobcat. Tantrum’s mission is to create and propel forward a resident professional theater company and training conservatory in Dublin, Ohio in a partnership between the City of Dublin, Dublin Arts Council, and the Ohio University College of Fine Arts.

Current MFA and BFA actors receive EMC credits if cast in a production or as an understudy. Tantrum Theater also actively seeks alumni participation. Casting is always by audition and determined by the director of each production. Over 40 Ohio University students have been employed each season in a range of creative, management and administrative positions.

Season Two:15170971_704796293003209_6215691362375369584_n

A Midsummer Night’s Dream cast included: Claire Autran, BFA 2017 (Hermia); Bri McCabe, BFA 2017 (First Fairy); Blake Dava, BFA 2018 (Lysander); Alex Amery, MFA 2018 (Starveling), Lisa Buch, MFA 2018 (Snug); Annie Ganousis (Snout), MFA 2018; Bruce McGlumphy, MFA 2018 (Flute); and Max Monnig, BFA 2013 (Demetrius).

Caroline or Change cast included: Alaina Kai, BFA 2017 (Radio 2); and Kristin Yates, BFA 2018 (Understudy Emmy).

Into the West cast included: Evie Weir, BFA 2018 (Understudy all women); Brian Epperson, MFA 2018 (Understudy all men).

Season One:13174074_606459219503584_2978934497459675470_nLittle Shop of Horrors, Tammy Faye’s Final Audition, Dancing at Lughnasa

Little Shop of Horrors cast included: Kelsey Rodriguez, BFA 2017; Sana Selemon, BFA 2017; and Kristin Yates, BFA 2018: The Street Urchins; Colin Cardille, BFA 2017 and Kadijah Wingo, BFA 2018: Ensemble.

Dancing at Lughnasa cast included: Ellie Clark, MFA 2018 (Agnes); Kat Bramley, MFA 2015 (Chrissie); Glenna Brucken, BFA 2012 (Rose); Kate Scholl, MFA 1997 (Kate).